My Story

Us mob, circa 1975I am a Yuwallarai woman from northwest NSW. I am 52 years old, a daughter, a sister, an aunty and a mother and grandmother (Aboriginal way).

I am currently based in Adelaide but ‘home’ is Goodooga in northwest NSW. Many of my aunties, uncles, cousins and other family members – the Lambs – still live in and around Goodooga, or over the border in St George in southwest Queensland.

I was raised in a loving, safe home by my Aboriginal mum (herself the oldest of 18 children) and my non-Aboriginal dad, both of whom always told me, my sister and two brothers that we could be and do anything we wanted.

A generation ago, my family were stationhands, shearers, jackeroos and jillaroos, and domestic servants. Today, we have a teacher, youth workers, a police officer, managers of community organisations, a journalist, a surveyor…you name it…amongst our number.

In my spare time, I like to hang out with friends and family, yarning, reading, playing pool, and cooking (see separate recipes page).

I thank my family, Elders and ancestors for helping me to become who I am today.

Image Caption: Me, front left, and my family circa 1974.

2 thoughts on “My Story

Leave a Reply to O L I V I A Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s